What is Performance Medicine?

This weekend, I visited my friend Dr. Jen Cham at Lougheed Wellness Centre with my doubles tennis partner Emily. We were there to get RockTaped.

RockTape microscopically lifts the skin away from the muscle and fascia below, which decompresses the area and promotes blood flow.

Performance Medicine focuses on the healthy i.e. non-injured individual by addressing sports medicine and preventative health care needs. For tennis players like Emily, this means to return to play earlier; she is safely supported because RockTape aids her left arm.

For me, it means not missing any training days, rallies or matches because my tricep and elbow is properly stabilized! This leads to less pain when playing and faster recovery when at rest. I feel that I am maximizing my performance on court by being taped. I love it because I can continue to play the sport I am passionate about without interruption 🙂 Winning!

img_3214
Instagram @xinageco
Leave a Reply

