NEKnomination vs. RAKnomination

55-second vlog of what I think about these 2 topics: Note this is an opinion piece. To read the rest of the blog, scroll down please. Thank you!

Click the underlined word for CBC article #1

NEKnominations are dumb

What is it?

  • a social media drinking game where you film yourself doing something daring (note: dangerous) while drinking
  • you have 24 hours to complete a challenge
  • you NEKnominate 2 other friends to complete a new round
  • IMHO, something really stupid that they should give Darwin Awards for
  • Cause of 4 deaths worldwide already

The point of a NEKnomination is to show you’re tough and that you can one-up your friends

click on any pic below to zoom in

stupid drunk

On facebook, a classmate posted photos of her drinking with several friends. She normally posts these kinds of photos so, initially, I didn’t really pay attention. However, she posted a status update later NEKnominating her brother (which meant someone NEKnominated her prior). *shake-my-head gesture goes here*

Amazing Funny Drunk Kids (27)

Her brother completed the task

He continued the cycle by NEKnominating 2 others from his friend list! At this point, I stopped paying attention so I don’t know if he took pictures or filmed a video. To be honest, I don’t really care!

Yes, I know it’s their lives and they can do what they want – so be it! THIS is monumentally stupid, however, and I would be sad to know one of my (social media only) friends be hospitalized or (worse) dead.

Thank goodness their NEKnominations were tame! Enough of this, lemme tell you about RAKnominations!

Kindnessw-Frame

Click the underlined word for CBC article #2

I LOVE RAKnominations! 🙂

  • RAKnominations are Random Acts of Kindness
  • you do a good deed and nominate others to also do a good deed
  • you don’t have to film it but you can do so just to inspire others
  • I think more people should do this cause it is really nice
  • I also think they should give out some kinda humanitarian award for this

The CBC article linked above shows samples of RAKnominations

Follow-up Questions

  1. What do you think about NEKnomination? Do you even care?
  2. How about RAKnominations? Would you do it only because someone nominated you?!
  3. Who says this should only apply to people? How about to nature or to animals?

Let me know your response, I AM curious!

kindness aesop

Check These Out

There is a RAKnomination facebook page you can visit

Here is another RAKnomination community on facebook

Thanks for reading. Come back soon!

4 thoughts on “NEKnomination vs. RAKnomination

  1. Hi Cristina,
    Your blog video and post was very interesting. Thanks for sharing this. I had never heard of NEKnominations, but as per your opinion, I too agree that it is very stupid. As for RAKnominations, I think they are great. Having social media helping as a trend setter, why not have positive trends that actually make a difference. I have heard of some friends who have had random acts of kindness brought onto them, which hit the facebook waves. Those RAK’s are so selfless and they make the world a much better place to live in. I am all for it! Thanks for your post 🙂

    P.S. I love how you used bullet points on your post to make it more fun to read. It would have been nice if you included a link to the CBC articles you were referring to.

    Thanks,
    Melanie Chui

    1. Hi Melanie,

      Thank you kindly for your comments specially about the stylistic aspects of my blog; I was wondering if I had too many bullet points OR if this was working better than paragraphs! Good to know 🙂

      Social Media does help with publicizing activities and if trends are to be set, I agree with your comment that it does help! I think there is a mimic-ing capacity in the younger generation (aside from the wanting to show-off part) and hence NEKnominations have become popular. I am truly grateful there are enlightened and kind individual who do participate in RAKnominations!

      The CBC articles were linked in the blog. The 1st one was “NEKnominations are dumb” – the underlined word NEKnomination appears under the “stupid drunk” dog pic. The 2nd one was about RAKnomination on the “I LOVE RAKnominations! :)” line – this appears under the pic of the firefighter giving a Koala bear some bottled water. If you were viewing the post on a mobile device, it may have not been so obvious had it been on a desktop/laptop browser. To be sure people know where to click, I’ve added notes on exactly where to click. Your question allowed me to refine what may have been an unclear part for some readers. Thanks!

      Namaste,
      Cristina

  2. You’re right, RAKnomination is awesome. I have seen some of the NEKnominations on YouTube, and they are dangerous and pointless. RAKnominations restore my faith in humanity. Great post!

Leave a Reply

